Mityana District

Local Government

Welcome to Mityana District

Dear visitors, well wishers and citizens of Uganda, we welcome you to Our District Website.

Mityana District is a District in the Central Region of Uganda. The district was created in 2005, by curving the Mityana and Busujju Counties from Mubende District. Mityana is the site of the district headquarters.



Kiboga District borders the Mityana District to the north, Nakaseke District to the northeast, Wakiso District to the east, Mubende District to the west, Mpigi District to the southeast, and Butambala and Gomba Districts to the south. The district headquarters at Mityana is approximately 77 kilometers (48 mi), by road, west of Kampala, Uganda's capital and largest city.


The 1991 national population census estimated the district's population at 223,530. In 2002, the national census estimated the district population at 266,110. In 2012, the district population was estimated at 311,600.

In 2010, the Uganda Bureau of Statistics (UBOS) estimated the population at 38,700. In 2011, UBOS estimated the mid-year population at 39,300. In August 2014, the national population census put the population of Mityana, as presently (February 2021), at 95,428 people.

Economic activity.

Agriculture is the main income-earning activity in the district. The crops grown include sweet potatoes, beans, cassava, maize, bananas, groundnuts, onions, cabbage, and tomatoes. Cash crops grown in the district include coffee and tea. There are several large-scale tea estates in the district, including Namutamba Tea Estate, located at Namutamba, and Mwera Tea Estate, situated at Mwera and a member of the Madhvani Group.